Tags

, , , , , ,

OH HEY! So, last week I talked about my shopping freeze (so far, so good) and re-organizing my closet. It turns out, I’m not alone in this. Just recently there have been several other posts from blogger and style sites I like about closet revamping and making the most of your space (which for me, is little to none).

****

Below, is the extent of what you can see, width-wise of my closet. There is an extra foot on each side that you can’t see, and which I haven’t been making the most use out of, because ummm… you can’t see it. I’ve learned that EVERY inch of space must be used and used wisely….

One of the main things I always stress is to make the things you love and love to wear often, the most visible! That way they are easily accessible and you don’t have to go digging through things and pulling out boxes to find them (and obviously creating a mess as you do it).

Yes, it would be nice to be able to keep all my shoes together, the sweaters together, the dresses together etc. – but reality is, I don’t have the proper and practical space to do so. SO, I put out what I will most likely wear, accommodating the season of course – this is New England after all. Then I store everything else “thoughtfully” (as Tim Gunn would say).

Below, I have the shoes that I wear most often (currently). On the left hand side, you can see the little storage shelf I bought to put things in and make use out of that space. I have one on the right side as well.

Another must (for me) are hooks – and lots of them! On both side of my closet door I have hooks, as well as the back of the door to my room and on an entire wall of my room. Depending on whether you are neat or messy, this tactic can look cute/fun or sloppy/cluttered, which is why I strive to keep things neat!! Also, pretty hooks from Urban Outfitters or Anthro help.

I used a bookshelf under my desk to showcase clutches and other shoes I like to wear/that look pretty. Bookshelves, are a piece of furniture I find very versatile.

One of the best investments I made was this dresser I bought from Ikea. Everyone thought it was going to be too big for the room, but I think it works perfectly. While my room is on the tiny (well, minuscule) side, this houses the bulk of my folded clothes and is a great surface to put ALL my jewelry, accessories, beauty products, make-up – (you get the idea) on …. I also think it balances out all the girly, frilly, sparkly, frou-frou stuff I have going on in my room.

Although, I’m not in college, I still love to use bed risers (don’t worry, I left the egg crates and shower caddies behind). When you have a small room, it creates more space to store stuff (aka clothes, boots, bags) under your bed.

Oh also, if you have a super old school tv in your room like me, it’s a great place to stack scarves and other items.

Next thing I need to buy: matching hangers!!

****

Sometimes my room feels like I live in a walk-in closet – but let’s be serious – that’s not the worst place in the world to be!

****

Other things I have been reading:

Cupcakes and Cashmere: Closet Clean-Up

Refinery29: Small Apartment Decorating

RueLaLa: Rue How-To: Clean Out Your Closet

****

JUST FOR FUN

