Tags

,

Let’s be honest here – who doesn’t love a good bargain? I have two schools of thought when it comes to beauty products:

1. I buy everything at Sephora so can I consult with the sales people there and am able to try products on before buying them.

2. I suddenly decide to be ‘frugal’ and spend my money buying all of my products at CVS.

Full disclosure – I looked back a few months ago at my expenses and realized I had spent an offensive amount of money at CVS – way more that I would have probably spent at Sephora (I said – probably).

So, currently I’m trying to find a balance between the both. There are some great Sephora buys, but equally a lot of drugstore buys and if you are like me and you lose things a lot, sometimes the drugstore stuff is just hands down a better way to go. SO below are some of my current favorite summer beauty cheapies:

For the lips: I don’t like to wear lipstick in the summer as it usually tends to slide around my face more and/or ends up on my teeth (super attractive). NYC Smooch Proof 16h LipStain is my current fav – I find this to be the best of drugstore lip stains – it lasts the longest – doesn’t dry out my lips as much and the tube lasts a lot longer than the Maybelline and Covergirl ones. I also like the color selection better. Below are ‘Berry Long Time’ (a great wine stain-ish one), ‘Smooch Proof’ ( a sweet looking pink) and ‘Champagne Stain’ (a more natural pink)

Also – chapstick is a MUST – especially in the sun. I like to apply it probably a hundred times a day. Below I have my classic favorite, Cherry Chapstick and Maybelline’s Baby Lips which has really great subtle color as well as moisture (the one below is Grape Vine).

For the face: Salma Hayek’s Nuance concealer and brightener (so random she has a line at CVS! But her stuff is actually good – and this is the first concealer that i found that fits my skin tone and has great coverage without being too cakey). Also, if you have pinkish/red tint to your face – PhysiciansStrength concealer in soft green is good. Note: use a SMALL amount of this and blend WELL!

For the peepers: So I love liquid liner! I have smaller eyes and especially in the summer, regular eyeliner seems to smudge (in a very bad way). However I do like Covergirl liquilineblast in brown (it has a blender on the other end which is also good for creating an impromptu smokey eye on the run). I just discovered Milani Infinite Liquid Liner (in brown below). The brush is super easy to use and it stays put. It says ‘up to 24 hr wear’ so you know that stuff just ain’t easy to rub off (you will need to use a lot of eye makeup remover, but I think it’s worth it). I also like this for day as it’s not as intense as black. I do LOVE black eyeliner though and it is my go-to for going out at night and dressing up. I actually really like the NYC liquid eyeliner – you can’t even tell what brand it is from my picture as the label has rubbed off from so much use. Suffice to say – this baby lasts awhile!

Mascara! Although I do love Diorshow Mascara – It’s a little expensive for me (depending on what month and state my bank account it is) – I think L’oreal Voluminous Million Lashes is a great alternative and it really makes my lashes look thicker and longer. Try it  – I think you will like it! Another useful buy is the Touch up Fly Away Tamer from John Frieda. It’s supposed to be used for fly aways in your hair, but I’ve also found it useful for your eyebrows. I think eyebrows are so important in framing your face and thus I’m pretty obsessive on grooming them. DO NOT use it as clear mascara though – it will blind you (or so it says on the tube).

For the skin: I love Jergens Natural Glow and Protect. I’ve tried a ton of self tanners with VERY mixed results and some obvious disasters (all I can say is yikes). I always go back to this though and now they make it with SPF – score! I also love Johnson’s Baby Oil Gel with aloe and vitamin e. It’s great for summer (especially if you have a sun burn or razor burn) and the gel is much easier to use than the regular oil (trust me, I’ve tried it. spilled some. created a mild oil slick on my hardwood floors). Also just FYI, you find this in the baby aisle of CVS.

For your hair: I’m in love with the Organix line – especially their Moroccan Oil products because its great for frizz balls like me. Below is the Curling Perfection Defining Cream, but they also have shampoos, conditioners, masks and tons of leave-in stuff. I also recently discovered Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray (which obviously transforms me into a Victoria’s secret model – JK). No really though, this stuff is great for giving texture and making some waves. Plus it smells all coconutty (not a real word). Next up, dry shampoo and conditioner (Tresemme and Suave)! These are great for travel and general use when you a. don’t have time to wash your hair b. are too lazy to shower or c. are trying to protect your hair from too much washing and drying. One tip with the Dry Shampoo is to not hold it too close to your hair and don’t over spray. Dry conditioner is a new-er product, but I’m liking it so far. It’s softening and gives you a nice little shine.

Now for the ULTIMATE must-have for summer. BOBBY PINS!! For as long as I can remember I’ve been leaving boby pins in my wake. I mean they are EVERYWHERE (my bed, my bags, my jeans, the bathroom, the kitchen) – seriously, if I ever get kidnapped look for a trail of bobby pins and you will find me. Anyway, I need bobby pins like all the time (no matter what my hair looks like or length it is) and I’ve finally found bobby pins that work and come in this great container! Do look for the Conair bobbypins in the hair aisle – they are awesome!

Let me know what you are liking this summer or if you have any other suggestions!

Product prices below*:
NYC smooch proof 16h LipStain $4.99
Cherry Chapstick $1.99
Maybelline Baby Lips $3.99
Nuance concealer and brightener $10.99
Physicians Strength concealer $8.99
Covergirl liquilineblast $ 8.99
Milani Infinite Liquid Liner $6.49
NYC liquid eyeliner $3.69
L’oreal Voluminous Million Lashes $8.99
Touch up Fly Away Tamer from John Frieda $7.99
Johnson’s baby oil gel with aloe $4.39
Jergens Natural Glow and Protect $9.99
Organix Curling Perfection Defining Cream $7.99
Not your mother’s Beach Babe texturizing sea salt spray $5.99
Suave Dry Conditioner Spray $3.99
Tresemme Freshstart Dry Shampoo $3.50
* Prices may vary at different drugstores

