Tags

, ,

Some times its just nice to get back to basics, classics and comfort. Think cotton tees – stripes and solids- sneakers and bags in canvas, and nice knit sweaters. I know you might not peg me as a ‘classic’ gal per se, but I do love me some t’s, stripes, and sneaks. The great thing about these separates is that you can mix them up and incorporate different pieces into different looks and other styles of clothing.

Try stripped tees, with leather  pants – skirts, over dresses or under dresses -the possibilities are endless. Same with canvas sneakers and totes – try and mix them up with a dress or a skirt. Trust me, it can look cute and not like you just couldn’t find your sandals! Add studs, jewels, fringe, feathers or flowers -classics are so versatile and worth stocking up on in your closet…

Audrey is always a classic

Brigitte makes the look a little edgy with the teased big hair, eyeliner, headband and jacket.

… and Marilyn, makes it a bombshell look…

Ashley Olsen (and her sister) design great, easy and comfortable tees, albeit expensive. However you can get the same aesthetics from their super luxurious line, The Row, on StyleMint. I’ve gotten many a great striped tee from them!

ALSO

How chic do these girls look – I want to copy them down to the hair and make-up!

I wore this little number (below) the other day and it was inspired by basic sportswear and the images you saw above. I decided to make it ‘more me’ by putting a stripe top and stripe skirt together:

T Shirt: Stylemint; Skirt: Forever21 – similar here ; Cardigan: Ann Taylor Loft – similar here;  Bag: Shoedazzle; Shoes: Superga.

Great brands to look at (where you can usually get decent prices) are Ralph Lauren, Tommy Hilfiger,  LL Bean, Lands End, GAP, Old Navy and Keds (for cute inexpensive canvas shoes).

* This is my monogrammed canvas bag – sort of classic/ sort of preppy. I actually wanted to get a medium sized bag to tote work stuff around and ordered it without looking at the measurments. Note – look at the measurements. This one ended up being much larger than I expected but I decided to keep it because a. I was too lazy to return it and b. it actually makes a great beach bag in the summer. I’ll talk about my love for monogram a little later.

