Tags

, , , , ,

Four years ago my girlfriends and I got together to exchange presents we got each other for Christmas. Strapped for cash (just being out of college and all) I decided to make my presents. I had always loved these wine and martini glasses that are made by ‘Lolita‘ for gifts and special occasions ( I have a few myself) and I thought it would be cool to make my own personalized wine glasses for my friends.

I went to Marshalls and bought a pack of six large wine glasses for about 5 bucks. Conveniently Michael’s was right next store so I bought paints that can  be used on glass. Then I went to town – Ta – Da:

In addition to the wine glasses, I bought each of my friends their favorite bottle of wine and secured a picture of us over the label:

I’m proud to say that my friend and now roommate still has both (although now the bottle is used as a vase for flowers). Not only did she love the present, it meant a lot that I took the time to make it. Depending on what your friends taste in wine is (3 buck chuck anyone??), the present is super inexpensive and very fun project to do!

Supplies:

* Wine glasses

* Paint for glass (you can get this at any craft store). I used this brand.

* Paint brushes

* Wine

* a picture of your choice

* Tape to secure picture

*** TIPS from Michaelshttp://www.michaels.com/Glass-Painting-Basics/ae0034,default,pg.html

Will you be trying this for holiday gifts this year?

