Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Although I was born in the mid 80s, I firmly believe that I am a product of the 90s. I’ve written before about my childhood nostalgia and its back more than ever. Recently I’ve had to go through all of my childhood belongings that my family has kept throughout the years and had to decide on what to keep and what to pitch – almost like a closet purge, but more emotionally brutal. It was definitely a bittersweet moment. Going through all my old artwork, awards, school notebooks, photo albums and all the other weird things I kept in my “Abby Bins” was really fun and I had forgotten about so many things, but I felt older than ever and it was hard choosing what I wanted to save and knowing what I might want 10 or 20 years from now.

photo (13)

I’ve also been catching a lot of episodes of ‘Friends’ and ‘Sex and the City’ (shocker) in the early seasons and I was thinking to myself, now that I’m grown up and living on my own, “Would this have been me in the 90s”? I’m using ‘be me’ roughly, as I know I do not live in New York city and hang out at a coffee-house everyday, or go out to hot club openings every night dressed to the 9’s (despite what my middle school/high school self might have thought my adult life would be like)… I’m thinking more in terms of fashion and beauty…

friends and satc

As you might have guessed my fashion in the 90s (as an elementary and middle school girl) consisted mostly of an array of multicolored bike shorts/pants, cutesy t-shirts from the Gap and Talbots Kids and OFCOURSE overalls and scrunchies. I’ve wondered though how I might have dressed in high school and college though if I were in the 90s (as that is the time period when I became more interested in that kind of thing)…

I’ve been looking at different pictures of movie/TV stills, celebs on the red carpet and out and about from the 90s and I’m totes digging it right now. I had a really great time in the 90s and I’m more than willing to incorporate some of that style into my wardrobe at the moment. Let me break some thangs:

‘Friends’ seasons 1 and 2 – a source of inspiration for everyday day wear in the 90s. I see a lot of denim – jeans, overalls, shirts, vests (vests in general), jackets and an infusion of plaid and layering of T’s and Tanks (it was also not taboo to tie extra shirts or jackets around the waist). In terms of beauty, we have the claw clip in full force action and a brown lip, both of which I have incorporated into day-to-day life. For the brown lip, I like Revlon Rum Raisin. AND last but NOT least the Rachel haircut. I attempted it twice until I came to terms that it was not a great look on me due to my face shape, type of hair and oh, wait, I’m not Jennifer Aniston. Also you might notice that Monica takes a stab at the Rachel-do in the early seasons as well…

friends in the 90s‘Sex and the City’ – the early years – now here is where I would get my 90s ‘glam’ look. However that being said, the 90s style is a little hard to define, as some of these women/characters, were quite fashion forward. The things that stand out to me are, some of the jackets/blazers, sunglasses, loafers/shoes, Bucket hats are still in, and some how capris kind of call to me here. In terms of beauty, we got some more of the brown lip, some twisty hair (Charlotte) and some nice flippy blowouts (except for Carrie).

satc 90sStay tuned for more on the 90s…

x the fabulous life of a natural disaster

