Tags

, , , , ,

funny sign dye

 So I’ve been wanting to dye my hair again for about a month, or since I realized that at the ripe old age of 26 I’ve found a grey hair or two. What can I say, I’ve had a rough life. Anyway, in my ongoing effort to save a few bucks here and there, I got it in my head that I could most likely, and hopefully, successfully dye my hair myself. Now, unlike my spur of the moment self-bang trim (of which I have a lot of confidence in), hair dying is a bit scary to me. I mean if you mess up, you mess up and you can go get it fixed, but I think the fact that I, Abby, would be dealing with chemicals and dyes etc by myself in my old school bathroom and it could get messy, was quite daunting.

****

It took me three different stops into CVS before I bought a box of hair color. After researching the different brands and best colors etc. online, I had found the perfect one: Clairol Nice ‘N Easy Color Blend Foam (key words on the box were NO DRIP). So, yesterday evening at CVS I picked out the Clairol color in Medium Reddish Brown – a best seller – so I mean, what’s the worst that could happen. I purchased it for $9.99 – a steel!

clairol

I have to say, it might have been a risk dying my hair yesterday as I had taken the wrong bus twice in a 24 hour period… um, yeah. But, I forced myself to focus and NOT be clumsy and drop stuff. Once I opened the box, got started and kept going, I felt great and it WAS nice ‘n easy! Since my hair is longer, it took me a little bit longer than I thought to cover my hair, but I was extremely proud of myself, especially since I did not see any mess in sight (I had ripped up garbage bags to cover the bathroom floor – which I thought was a pretty smart move). WOOT. WOOT. After 25 minutes and a shower, I was finished and I have to say I love the color! Super vibrant, natural and soft and you can’t beat the price (considering I was most likely going to have to pay upwards of $100)! Results:

photo (35)

photo (34)

photo (29)

I was flying high on my success and even my roommate was impressed… until about two hours later when we found out that maybe I should have covered the toilet seat with a trash back. Wa. Waaa. Seeing as it had been sitting there for a couple of hours it was not easy to get off (slash it’s still not totally off – scrubbing will be my arm workout for this evening). So word to the wise – cover everything!

vintique_image (36)

Otherwise, I highly recommend saving yourself a few bucks and dying your hair with Clairol Nice N’ Easy! If I can do it, anyone can. There’s also a video from Family Circle on the Color Foam Blend which I watched about 4 times before I starting the dying process…

Do you normally dye your hair yourself?

vintique_image (35)

PS. Is matching you lips with your hair color a thing? It should be.

