Tags

, , , , , ,

Why is tomorrow already February? So crazy. I know everyone’s dying to see what products I’ve been loving so far this year. Am I right? Anyway….here we go…

vintique_image (61)

My main “beauty focus” has been to keep my skin hydrated and moisturized this winter. While I use pure coconut oil daily all over the skin, I’ve been using this new L’Oreal Paris Ideal Moisture Even Tone Day Lotion and I love it! Feels so nice on my skin and provides a great base for my make up. I also wear it to bed, even though it’s a day cream, because why not? It says 48 hour hydration and let’s be honest, it’s not like can afford a fancy pants night cream right now. This does the job for day and night and at $6.99 at your local CVS, the price is right my friend:

vintique_image (54)

For the lips, I’ve been doing a nice pink, sheer cherry or 90s brown lately. Revlon Rum Raisin is my shade of choice for the brown color. Burt’s Bees just came out (relatively recently) with their 100% Natural Lip Shine. It comes in a few colors, but I like this shade ‘Pucker‘ – a pretty, sheer,cherry color that you can wear by itself or over a lipstick. What I like about this gloss is that it is moisturizing, which is key for winter. Last but not least, I put my Sephora gift card to use and bought Nars Larger than Life Lip Gloss in Coeur Sucre – a shimmering vibrant pink that adds a subtle pop of pink.

vintique_image (55)

For tooth paste, I tried Arm & Hammer Whitening Booster (clinically proven to whiten in just 1 week). Basically, you put an equal amount of this on your toothbrush as your regular toothpaste and then brush normally. Super easy and I can see my teeth getting whiter!

vintique_image (56)

Let’s look at concealers. Between lack of sleep, stress and getting older, I need a little bit of a heavier concealer for my under eye circles these days. I turned to Cover Girl & Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer in 210 and I think it’s been doing a pretty great job. It’s a nice consistency that is a bit creamy with some olay lotion that smooths over fine lines and covers dark circles pretty effortlessly. I also use this for extra redness on my face (particularly around the nose). If I need an extra boost of glowy-ness, I’ll dab on a bit of the Maybelline DreamLumi highlighting concealer which I talked about here, as a finishing touch. I also bought a darker concealer to experiment a bit with contouring. I found this Black Opal stick in Honey at my local CVS and use it to define what little cheek bones I have. So far I like it, but I need to perfect my technique.

vintique_image (57)

Eyebrows and Eyeliner: I showed my love for a certain Sephora eyebrow pencil last time and I still use it everyday, but I saw this Speed Brow from Benefit (its brow setting gel with a slight tint) when I popped into Sephora and had to try it. I find that it’s the perfect addition to keeping my brows nice, neat and defined. A definite recommendation from me here. I also got this Skinny Mini Liquid Eyeliner (Black) from EYEKO in my January Birchbox, which I really like. The tip is very skinny so its perfect to define small eyes like mine without getting liner all over your lid. It’s super easy to build up and make a thicker line as well.

vintique_image (58)

Now my last two goodies from my trip to Sephora: Nars Blush in Angelika and Too Faced Primer (which was actually a free sample from their rewards program). I really love this blush! It’s the perfect subtle pink with a slight shimmer that you can easily build up. I’ve been using the Too Faced Primer mostly on my eyes (under my eye shadow) and it seems to be working well. I’ve always had problems with eye shadow creasing as my peepers are quite small. I’m hoping this continues to fix that issue.

vintique_image (59)

And lastly, my biggest disappointment this month – Maybelline Colossal Volume Express in Cat Eyes. I realllly wanted to love this, but I just was not impressed. I got no volume at all and I didn’t really see the ‘cat eye effect’. I still love the Maybelline Mega   Plush Mascara and use that and then use the Colossal if I want a bit of definition (but I mainly just use the Colossal to make it feel like I didn’t waste my money on it).

vintique_image (60)

And there you go folks – Abby’s January Beauty Products.

****

Is there anything you’ve been loving lately that I NEED to try??

