Tags

, , , , , , , ,

oscar heading

I love Award season, but the Oscars are the award of all awards to me. There was once a time in my life that I dreamed of becoming an actress and someday going to the Oscars (as well as fulfilling my girl Erica’s lifelong dream of going to the Oscars and introducing her to Leonardo Di Caprio). However, I think those days have come and gone for me. Never say never, but I think I’m content watching from the side-lines right now and I’m so excited to watch this Sunday evening (most likely in my PJ’s and perhaps a glass of wine). Here is a look back at some of my all time favorite Oscar red carpet dresses….

Abby’s Red Carpet Picks

Julia Roberts in Vintage Valentino for her 2001 win for Erin Brockovich. I mean between the vintage black and white, the cut and draping, her gorgeous full hair and her mega-watt smile, she killed it. I was so excited she won.

Julia Roberts Oscars

Reese Witherspoon – Left: Armani 2011 Right: Nina Ricci 2007. I really love both of these looks. I like the dress on the left because it is so simple, classic and elegant. But above all I love the way she styled it with a kind of fresh take on a Barbie pony tail and those gorgeous emerald earrings. She truly made that dress her own and I thought she looked amazing. The Nina Ricci dress on the right is just down right stunning and I liked how she kept her makeup and jewelry simple as well has easy flat ironed hair and her rockin’ new bangs. Gorgeous!PicMonkey Collagereese1

Nicole Kidman in Balenciaga in 2007. I was just mesmerized as she walked down the red carpet that year. She looked so elegant and statuesque. I feel like dress was made for her and it definitely had a wow factor for me. Very memorable – loved it!PicMonkey Collagenic2

Gwyneth Paltrow in Ralph Lauren in 1999 – she won for Shakespeare in Love. I feel like this dress had a bunch of mixed reactions, but I was obsessed. She truly looked like an American princess and a new Grace Kelly. To me she looked perfect. I will always love this dress.PicMonkey Collage gpal2

Cameron Diaz in Emanuel Ungaro in 2002. I love this dress because it was quite unexpected from what you usually see at the Oscars, but it suited her so well and she looked confident and elegant in her own way. I loved that she chose a print as well. I thought she looked amazing. I would love to wear a dress like this!PicMonkey Collage cam12

Jennifer Garner in Vintage Valentino on 2004. Orange/Coral (whatever you would like to call it) seemed like a very bold choice to me when I saw it, but I loved the cut and I think she completely pulled it off. She looks beautiful and at ease – a ray of sunshine.Jennifer Garner Oscar

Michelle Williams in Vera Wang in 2006. Oh man, when I saw this dress on the red carpet I was in awe. First, she pulls off the yellow so well and second, I loved that she paired it with a red lip. The cut is gorgeous as well. I think she looked fab!Michelle williams

And last but not least…

Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford in 2012. She definitely brought the wow factor last year. I mean, how cool is it that she rocked a cape. Tom Ford did a genius job on her and keeping the focus on the dress with understated hair and jewelry was simply perfect. She completely nailed it.Paltrow2What are your favorite dresses? Are you excited as I am to see the Academy Awards on Sunday?

****

PS. I’m hopping for big things for Argo and Silver Linings Playbook. Definitely my favorite movies this year. So much love for them!

argo silvlining

