Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

beachwaves

I think ‘beach waves’ are an obvious hair trend for Summer, and since I have naturally wavy (and frizzy) hair, I am all for this style! Despite my natural texture, I definitely need to use a little product in my hair to enhance and define my waves. There are a multitude of products out on the market at any given time, but these are my all time, tried and true favorites (under $10!) for making those waves that look as if you just came off the beach in St. Barts!

Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray and Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream

I love, love, love both of these products! I use the Curl Defining cream when I want tighter waves and scrunch it into my hair while using a diffuser. If I want looser waves, I use the salt spray and either air dry or use a diffuser. Both products smell amazing as well. Since I have thick, long hair, I use a ‘generous’ amount of each product – but if you have finer hair, less is more…

NYM

****

Garnier Fructis Style Surfer Hair Power Putty

I discovered this product a few years ago and always use it during the Summer when I want really wild, wavy looking hair. It’s definitely less polished looking (I’m pretty sure you could make dreads with this product), but a super fun look if you want to go all the way with that surfer chick vibe! They have a newer formula right now, but it still works the same. I usually use a dollop of the product and rub it in my hands before I tousle and crunch it in my hair. To really get the surfer look, I’ll twist and mold a few strands/sections and then use a diffuser. The product also looks great when you just leave it to air dry, which I do more often than not when I’m not in a hurry.

surfputty

****

Quick Tips

* To eliminate frizz, start when you get out of the shower by using a t-shirt to dry your hair instead of a towel (which tends to roughen up your strands).

* To further eliminate frizz after your hair fully dries, use Garnier Fructis Haircare Sleek & Shine Sleek Finish 5-in-1 Serum Spray.

* When in doubt – just embrace the frizz.

* To touch up your hair either after it dries or the day after styling, use a curling iron on random waves that seem a bit limp. I like using a curling iron that is 1″. I’m also dying to try this type of iron.

****

Need some inspiration?

beachwave2 beachwaves3

****

Want to DIY your own beach wave salt spray? Try this recipe I found on ashressaday!

****

Will you be making waves this Summer?

bw3

