Tags

, , , , , , , ,

casket-with-jewelry

Photo credit: Larisa Koshkina

Growing up I used to love watching my mother dress up and I was fascinated by the way she always transformed herself when she stepped out of the house. What sticks to my memory were the long pearls she used to wear around her neck. I remember thinking to myself that pearls would be my first big purchase and I kept my promise.

Pearls are a staple of classic elegant style shown by women like Audrey Hepburn and Coco Chanel. You may be thinking to yourself pearls are too matronly but it is all about how you wear them. Remember to keep it simple, think a pair of jeans, tweed blazer and long pearls like I have below.

 DSC01485 (480x640) (2)

I truly believe every girl should own pearls be it a pair or earrings or a necklace. You don’t have to break the bank to get some, I got mine on sale from Zales outlet store in Wrentham when I got my first real job. Department stores like Macy’s have great deals on pearls and if you are lucky you may find affordable pearls at vintage stores.

Tweed blazer from Forever 21 $ 39

White tee: Zara $9.99

Pearls: Zales jewelers $ 152

****

Check out Spoons and Stilettos here!

****

