Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

septbeautybuzztextAs you can see, I’ve made myself quite at home in California, including this fabulous bathroom! Having lived with a bathroom from the 70s with a leaking claw tub and a toilet that looked like it was migrating away from the wall, I feel as though I have been living in the lap of luxury with modern appliances, marble and a big, beautiful shower. I am seriously loving it and it’s been great to have space for all my beauty products, makeup, etc!

P1000012beautybuzz

P1000016

P1000018

P1000017

I wouldn’t say that I’ve been going product crazy since I’ve moved to California (especially being unemployed), but I did need go out and buy some basic products when I arrived (I pretty much threw out most of my shampoo, conditioner etc when I packed up my apartment). I also had some sweet deals from my CVS extra bucks and got to splurge on some Fall lip color.

P1000024

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse * Maybelline Define-A-Brow eyebrow pencil * Wet & Wild Heather Silk

….I have a confession – I did not end up liking the foundation I bought that was featured in last month’s beauty post (Neutrogena Healthy Skin Compact Make-up). After giving it a go for a week, I decided that while I did like the application and feel of the consistency, I did not love the way it made my skin look, which was kind of dull and washed out. Two nights before I left on my cross-country trip I did a drugstore trip to pick up some travel essentials and ended up buying Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse. I’m so happy I did. I love the consistency and smoothness to it and it is a decent amount of coverage without being to thick. My skin feels luminous without being shiny and greasy – a major win!

I ran out of my beloved eyebrow pencil a week before I moved (devastating) and didn’t have time to pickup or order it from Sephora, so I took a chance on the Maybelline Define-A-Brow eyebrow pencil in medium brown. I have to say, I really, really like it and it is extremely similar to the Sephora brand pencil that I’ve used or years.

I also bought a cheapie plum/rose blush also known as Wet & Wild Heather Silk for a little Fall update. It’s pretty pigmented, so a little goes a long way, but I really like the hue.

P1000053

Sonia Kashuk Lip Definer in Natural * Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in Berry Nude

Also in preparation for Fall I bought two matte lip pencils from Sonia Kashuk. One is a standard lip liner in Natural, which nicely matches my lip color and is perfect to use before applying any other stick or gloss. The other is called Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in Berry Nude, which is a color slightly darker than my lips. It reminds me of the shades worn in the 90s (I’m thinking Monica Geller and Rachel Green circa season 2 of Friends), which is obviously a huge trend for fashion this Fall.

P1000022

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss * Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm * Benefit Ultra Plush Lip Gloss – Sugarbomb

I have been eyeing the new Revlon Lip gloss shades and Berry Allure does not disappoint – such a pretty berry hue and a great way to perk up any outfit. I am also loving the Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm! They aren’t super pigmented, but they have a nice color to them and they are SO moisturizing! I have been wearing ‘Apple a Day‘. Birchbox sent me this super pretty lip gloss from Benefit called Sugarbomb. It’s the perfect nude/rose gloss with a little shimmer!

P1000029

These Olay products were such a lifesaver on my trip out West! I’ve been using the Olay Active Hydrating Lotion on my face every day and night. It is really moisturizing, but has such a light consistency and I love the smell. I also am obsessed with the Sensitive Wet Cleansing Cloths. I have to say, I’ve tried a lot of different brands and types, but this one took off all my makeup and cleaned my face without any irritation or drying whatsoever. As I usually only use face wipes when I’m on the go, I bought this Up & Up Makeup Remover for everyday use. This is the best eye makeup remover I’ve used in a long time. It does feel a bit oily (but it IS oil free) and it truly does remove all eye makeup, which is excellent because my pet peeve is waking up with crusty left over eye makeup. Aquaphor is an old favorite of mine and I bought it a few weeks ago as I’ve had some dry skin. I love to put this on my legs, elbows and hands before bed as an over night repair treatment.

P1000032

In the shower… I really do LOVE Organix products and I decided to stick with them when I had to buy new shampoo and conditioner. I decided to try the anti-breakage Keratin Oil version as my hair is getting quite long and I definitely need to protect it as much as possible. I also bought the Moroccan Argan Creme Sheer Opulence Masque to use every few days. I still use the Organix Moroccan Argan Oil for Dry & Course Hair every time I shower as well. So far I really love these products and my hair truly does feel nice and soft. Cetaphil… I still love washing my face with this gentle skin cleanser –  it’s a definite staple in my skin care and I always use it in the shower.

****

What products have you been loving recently?

x your natural disaster

****

